Key Training Areas to Focus on Before the CMMC Assessment

Abacode Jeremy-Rasmussen headshot
By: Jeremy Rasmussen
CMMC, Cyber Defense, MCCP Core

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is crucial for any organization looking to do business with the Department of Defense (DoD). Preparing for the CMMC assessment involves focusing on key training areas to ensure compliance and readiness. CMMC is a pivotal framework mandated by the U.S. Department of DoD contractors. It’s an essential compliance milestone, safeguarding sensitive data and bolstering national security by fortifying the cyber resilience of organizations within the defense industrial base. 

Understanding the CMMC Framework

The CMMC framework enhances the protection of sensitive data within the defense industrial base (DIB). It integrates various cybersecurity standards and best practices, and it’s essential to understand its structure and requirements. Key areas of focus include:

  • Access Control (AC): Training on how to manage access to systems and data.
  • Incident Response (IR): Developing and practicing response plans for cybersecurity incidents.
  • Risk Management (RM): Identifying, assessing, and mitigating risks to information systems.

Training should cover:

  • Security Awareness and Training (AT): Regular sessions to educate employees about potential threats and security best practices.
  • Media Protection (MP): Guidelines for handling and protecting sensitive information.
  • Physical Protection (PP): Measures to secure physical access to data and systems.

These areas are part of the 17 domains outlined in the CMMC framework and mastering them is critical for achieving certification. 

The CMMC Certification Process

Achieving CMMC certification involves a structured process.  

  • Remediation: Implement changes and improvements based on the self-assessment findings.
  • Engage a C3PAO: Partner with a Certified Third-Party Assessor Organization (C3PAO) for an external assessment.
  • Assessment: Undergo the formal CMMC assessment by the C3PAO.
  • Certification: Receive your CMMC certification upon successful assessment.

This process ensures that your organization meets the necessary cybersecurity standards to protect sensitive information.

Key Training Areas

To effectively prepare for the CMMC assessment, focus on the following training areas: 

  • Policy and Documentation: Ensure all policies and procedures are well-documented and accessible.
  • Continuous Monitoring: Establish protocols for ongoing monitoring of systems and networks.
  • Incident Handling: Train staff on incident detection, response, and reporting procedures.

These training areas are integral to maintaining compliance and readiness for the CMMC assessment. 

Preparing for the CMMC assessment requires a comprehensive approach to training and process implementation. By focusing on these key areas, your organization can achieve and maintain CMMC compliance. Any company, regardless of its size, that wants to secure and work on defense contracts must comply with CMMC. Even small businesses that don’t directly work with the DoD but provide products or services for DoD contracts need to follow CMMC guidelines. Abacode’s customized approach has been proven to help organizations become audit ready twice as fast and at a lower price compared to doing it in house. No need to have multiple third-parties to manage. 

Abacode is a CMMC-AB Certified Registered Provider Organization (RPO). Our MCCP Core™ program is designed to help your company meet CMMC 2.0 requirements without disrupting your business. Our experts provide the guidance and resources needed to navigate the certification process successfully. Start today and protect your organization’s future.